That Damn List

Things to do, people to see, stuff to learn, even more to clean.

My life revolves around making lists, crossing things out, and adding more to the bottom. But here lately my list is not much of a list.

See, to-do lists are supposed to be organized to maximize efficiency and ease the mind of the person trying to tackle the tasks. My to-do list is more like a run-on sentence with absolutely no punctuation, and scribbled handwriting.
Oh, and in multiple colored ink.
But also someone is reading it to me really fast over and over again.

dishes dinner swap the load of laundry feed the dogs change a diaper sweep the floors change the sheets study for your test dishwasher needs to be unloaded grocery shop take the dogs outside did you pack the diaper bag for tomorrow whats that smell coming from the oven take notes from the book where is the baby where are the dogs give the baby a bath hang up wet shirts did you mail that thing yet the phone is ringing take that quiz I need to shower wasn’t there a bill due today clean out the fridge to make room for leftovers did you even eat dinner laundry still needs to be swapped late homework assignment needs to be done go eat something ...

It is easy to get things done when your mental list is well organized, perhaps in order of most importance. My thoughts never slow down enough to organize it in any way, but instead marks everything tied at number one. Combine that along with being sensory overloaded from a crying/whining toddler, dogs who keep licking you and play fighting, Shrek 2 playing in the background for the literal third time that day, a husband who keeps asking for favors from the kitchen, feeling shaky from lack of food, and not having a moment of alone time.

I don’t know what is to blame here. Are my dogs bad? Do I just not give them enough attention? Is my daughter in the terrible two’s already? Does she need more attention? Is my husband expecting too much of me? Is he just tired from work?
Am I not doing enough for my family?
Am I doing too much?

Author:

I am a mother, wife, full time student and employee. I am in constant pursuit of a healthy lifestyle, more so mentally than dietary, and I use this blog as a public diary for my thoughts.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.